The IUCN SSC Amphibian Specialist Group (ASG) is a volunteer network of over 300 members who contribute a wide range of expertise to the group, including that covering amphibian biodiversity in specific biogeographical, ecological, economic, social, cultural and political regional contexts.

Zones, Regions and Countries

While the ASG is global in scope, it is subdivided into a number of smaller geographical units representing either an individual country or region (group of countries). Each of these groups plays an important role in the wider global context. Regional ASG Working Groups are an important contact point for researchers, conservation organizations, governments and multilateral environmental agreements.

Each regional group is run by one or two co-chairs, with considerable flexibility in how each group operates and is structured given differing geographic realities.

The appointing of new members to Regional Working Groups is undertaken through nomination by the chair(s) of that region or another established ASG member, in consultation with the respective chair(s). All parties interested in becoming ASG members are invited to familiarize themselves with the ASG and to identify how they may contribute to the group by reading the 2019-2020 ASG Strategic Plan. Diversity of expertise is a benefit and for that reason the nomination of seasoned herpetologists through to early stage students is actively encouraged. The ASG is not an exclusive group; however, a certain level of expertise is required in order to ensure that the group maintains its role as an advisory authority in the field of amphibian conservation.

For questions regarding specific countries or regions please contact us.

Each colour indicates a Regional Group. Please see below for details of each Regional Group.
Country or Region Constitution Chair(s) ARLA Regional Coordinator(s)
North and Central America and the Caribbean      
Canada Canada Kristiina Ovaska and Sara Ashpole  
Caribbean Caribbean islands bound by the Gulf of Mexico, North American mainland, eastern Central America, and northern South America TBD  
Costa Rica Costa Rica Gerardo Chaves  
El Salvador El Salvador Francisco Samuel Álvarez Calderón  
Guatemala and Belize Guatemala and Belize Carlos Vasquez  
Honduras Honduras Ruth Marcec-Greaves  
Mexico Mexico Gabriela Parra-Olea  
Nicaragua Nicaragua Silvia Robleto and Allan Gutierrez  
Panama Panama Roberto Ibáñez  
United States United States Dede Olson  
South America      
Argentina Argentina TBD Marcos Vaira


Bolivia Claudia Cortez and Arturo Muñoz  


Brazil Cybele Lisboa  
Chile Chile Claudio Azat and Juan Carlos Ortiz  
Colombia Colombia Mauricio Rivera-Correa and Sandra Galeano  
Ecuador Ecuador Diego Cisneros-Heredia Diego Cisneros-Heredia
Guiana Shield Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana, northwestern Brazil and southeastern Venezuela  Philippe Kok Antoine Fouquet
Paraguay Paraguay TBD  
Peru Peru Giussepe Gagliardi and Victor Vargas Alessadro Catenazzi and Rudolf von May
Uruguay Uruguay TBD  
Venezuela Venezuela Celsa Señaris and Margarita Lampo  
Europe, North Africa and West Asia      
Europe Westernmost Eurasia, bound by the Arctic Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Mediterranean Sea, and the watersheds of the Ural and Caucasus Mountains, the Ural River, the Caspian and Black Seas, and the waterways of the Turkish Straits Vincenzo Ferri Jelka Crnobrnja-Isailovic
North Africa Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan and Tunisia TBD  
West Asia Turkey, the Levant countries, Iraq, Iran, Kuwait, and the Arabian peninsula Pritpal “Micky” Soorae and Uğur Kaya Uğur Kaya
Sub-Saharan Africa      
East Africa Tanzania, Kenya, Somalia, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Eritrea, South Sudan, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi Victor Wasonga and Simon Loader  
Madagascar Madagascar Andolalao Rakotoarison and Angelica Crottini  
Southern Africa Lesotho, South Africa, Namibia, Mozambique, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Angola and Malawi Jeanne Tarrant  
West Africa Senegal in the East and North to Nigeria in the East N’goran Kouamé  
Central Africa Cameroon, both Congos, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Central African Republic Legrand Nono Gonwouo  
Mainland Asia      
China China Jiang Jian-Ping  
Japan Japan TBD  
Korea Korea TBD  
Mainland S. East Asia Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam and West Malaysia TBD TBD
Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) and Mongolia Russia, Mongolia, Kazakhstan and Belarus Artem Kidov  
South Asia (minus Sri Lanka) Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal and Pakistan Karthik Vasudevan and Sanjay Molur  
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Anslem de Silva and Madhava Meegaskumbura  
Maritime Southeast Asia and Oceania      
Australia Australia Jodi Rowley Conrad Hoskin
Indonesia Indonesia Amir Hamidy Mirza Kursini
Malaysia Malaysia Chan Kinn Onn  
Melanesia Vanuatu, the Solomon Islands, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, New Caledonia, West Papua and Maluku Islands Stephen Richards Stephen Richards
New Zealand New Zealand TBD  
Philippines Philippines Arvin Diesmos  
Singapore Singapore Leong Tzi Ming